Français Anglais Musée du compagnonnage à Tours
Musée du Compagnonnage
Musée du Compagnonnage

Welcome to the
Musée du Compagnonnage

The museum opened to the public in 1968 in the former dormitory of the monks of the Benedectine Abbey of Saint Julien (13th-18th century). It houses outstanding collections related to the compagnons of the Tour de France.
Compagnonnage dates back from the end of the Middle Ages. It is made up of societies of young workers aspiring to professional and moral development by means of a journey through France called « tour de France ».
UNESCO inscribed Compagnonnage into the List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity in 2010, thanks to their unique mean of passing down knowledge and savoir-faire linked to the trades of stone, wood, metal, copper, leather, textiles and culinary trades.
The exhibition of more than thousands of pieces (masterpieces, archive documents, tools and symbolic attributes such as canes and emblems) make it possible to discuss this movement in its entirety, from its origins until today.
Periodic animations, exhibitions, theme-based visits and activities for children make it a lively place. Collections, particularly contemporary works, are often renewed. Do not hesitate to get in touch with us by e-mail. 

Diary
Thursday 1 January 1970
Reservation
Group of more than 10 people
Duration: from 1 to 1½ hours
Group visits are preceded by a 20-minute presentation of the Guilds.
Flowing staircase
(1825)

Musée du Compagnonnage

8 rue Nationale
37000 Tours
Tel: 02 47 21 62 20

Escalier à dessous coulissant (1825) Map
Contact us